Skip to content

August 11, 2010

1

Some Health and Fitness Tips for Ramadan and beyond: Part 1

by Umm Muawiyah

Assalamu Alaikum.

My treadmill misses me. Or perhaps I’m the one who misses the treadmill?

Why do I miss my treadmill? Because a Muslim needs to be fit – otherwise, he/she will not be able to all that he/she is required to do (which is basically to worship Allah in the best possible manner). It’s as simple as that.

So, with that in mind, here are some resources for us to improve our health this Ramadan:

Firstly, we need to understand the importance of health and fitness in Islam. So here goes:

1) Here’s an interesting explanation of the hadeeth of the strong believer and the weak believer.

2) Prefer listening? Here’s a very interesting lecture about the place of fitness in Islam:

Fitness in Islam by Yaser Birjas (Download):

3) 5 Health Myths that hold Muslims Back – Nice. And he backed it up with evidence.

The brother had a website but it isn’t up any more. He did produce the following short videos though:

Why are Muslims Fat?

Muslim Smile Diet

Secondly, here are some resources for improving your health in Ramadan and beyond:

1) Ramadan Health Guide – I don’t agree with everything it says but it’s got some good info. I’ve suffered from just about all the ailments mentioned so in the next post, insha-Allah, I’ll mention the Prophetic remedies (which work a whole lot better than the medicines available in the pharmacies).

2) Healing with the Medicine of the Prophet – This is a book by Imam Ibn Al-Qayyim Al-Jawziyya (rahimahullah). Totally fantastic.

3) A website dedicated to healthy muslims: http://www.healthymuslim.com/ – Good stuff.

To Be Continued…

[Don’t worry, I’ll just be sharing my experiences in the next part.]

1 Comment Post a comment
  1. R
    Jun 3 2011

    May Allah swt reward you aboundantly for trying to get everyone motivated. I love your blog, thats right: L.O.V.E.

    Especially your matter of fact approach. Its alluring so much so that I have printed out the Wimbledon analogy (yes its that sister again, come one I have been patient for so long I just wanted to give you a gentle reminder so you dont forget about it :p).

    Time is moving on swiftly. I pray that Allah swt keeps your steadfast and more zealous. Now back to your posts. I’ve been checking into them every day. Thank you for the arabic tips, inshallah this has come at the right time. I think you should re-post earlier ramadan posts, unless you have something new to add, experience teaches us new things so I would say add some further comments if you deem necessary. I personally think you should work through the list that you have highlighted: ie. work through the salah. Thats my two cents anyway.

    P,s, I tend to sleep after fajr, only as I get too tired at work. Allahamdillah its taken so long to just get into this routine. Next stop: Tahujjud. Anytips? Isha is at 11pm here in the UK and Tahujjud time starts at 2am.

    What to do? I prefer the struggle of sleeping and then get up – no matter how little. That is the sunnah of Tahujjud. May allah swt help us all to make this the best Ramadan.

    Ameen.

    Reply

Share your thoughts

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments