Skip to content

August 23, 2011

10

A great event that took place on the 24th of Ramadan…

by Umm Muawiyah

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum.

What is this great event, you ask?

Well, it’s the revelation of the Quran, of course.

We know (from Surah Al-Qadr) that it was revealed on Laylatul Qadr (the Night of Decree).

This great event took place on the 24th (which is tonight).

أنزلت صحف إبراهيم أول ليلة من شهر رمضان ، و أنزلت التوراة لست مضت من رمضان ، و أنزل الإنجيل بثلاث عشرة مضت من رمضان ، و أنزل الزبور لثمان عشرة خلت من رمضان ، وأنزل القرآن لأربع وعشرين خلت من رمضان

“The Suhuf of Ibrahim were revealed on the first night of Ramadan. The Tawrah was revealed on the sixth of Ramadan. The Injeel was revealed on the thirteenth of Ramadan. The Zaboor was revealed on the eighteenth of Ramadan. And the Quran was revealed on the twenty-fourth of Ramadan.” [Sahih Al-Jaami, Hadeeth No. 1497. There seems to be a small dispute over its authenticity but quite a few scholars authenticated it. Also, it would explain why Anas ibn Malik (radiallahu anhu) did what he did on the 24th.]

Now, does this hadeeth mean that tonight is Laylatul Qadr?

Well, as most scholars say that the date changes from year to year, no not necessarily. However, what this hadeeth does show us is:

1) The magnificence of Ramadan and how it was historically a month of guidance.

2) The fact that the original Laylatul Qadr was on the 24th means that the 24th (and any of the even numbered nights for that matter) could also be Laylatul Qadr.

So, let’s not wait for the odd nights. Let’s give the even nights our best efforts as well.

[Note: Let me clarify things again. When we say that “it was revealed on this night”, it means that a copy of it was sent from the Lawh Al-Mahfoudh (the Preserved Tablet) to Bait Al-Izzah in the first heaven. (After this, it was revealed to the Prophet (sallallahu alaihi wasallam) over a period of 23 years.)

Many people seem to think “it was revealed on this night” means that this was the night that Jibreel (alaihissalam) came to the Prophet (sallallahu alaihi wasallam) and said “Read.”

No, that’s not Laylatul Qadr, although from what I heard, that also took place in Ramadan.

What’s the proof for this, you ask? It’s from the language used. I would need an entire post to talk about it….]

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. MS Fauzia
    Aug 23 2011

    Jazakallah!! Could I request you to please update more about the revelation of Holy Quran, what I know that it was revealed the day with “Iqrah” to Prophet Mohaamed(pbuh) according to your write-up it’s different I want more to know ablout the facts of actaull day of revelation,is it, what you wrote or what till now we knew.

    Reply
    • Umm Muawiyah
      Aug 23 2011

      Assalamu Alaikum.

      Wa iyyaaki.

      Yes sister, the revelation to the Prophet (sallallahu alaihi wasallam) did begin with “Iqra”. I didn’t say otherwise.

      What I said was that when we say “The Quran was revealed on Laylatul Qadr”, we mean that a copy of it was sent down to the first heaven. It was AFTER this that Jibreel (alaihissalam) came to the Prophet (sallallahu alaihi wasallam) with the first five ayaat of Surah Al-Alaa and this particular incident is not what Surah Al-Qadr is referring to. [Here’s the tafsir of Ibn Kathir: http://www.qtafsir.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1051&Itemid=153%5D

      Okay, as you are very keen to know more, I’ll give you a little assignment. Please check the first ayah of Surah Al-Qadr and the third ayah of Surah Aal-Imran. Look at the words (jn Arabic) which mean “revealed”. Did you notice something?

      Reply
  2. Faiza
    Aug 23 2011

    Thank you for this post. You are in my prayers for all your efforts and all that you have taught me. I’d like to learn more about the Lawh Al-Mahfoudh, I’ve done a search but the articles were quite confusing. Where can I learn more.

    Reply
    • Umm Muawiyah
      Aug 23 2011

      Assalamu Alaikum.

      Wa iyyaaki.

      Jazakillahu kheira for the kind words.

      Would you like to know more about the Tablet itself or the Laylatul Qadr part?

      If it’s the former then you could check out the books related to Qadr (predestination) as the Tablet contains everything that will happen (which is why these books discuss it).

      Insha-Allah, if you can give me until after Eid, I can try to dig something up for you.

      Reply
  3. Umm Moosa
    Aug 24 2011

    Walaikum Assalaam.
    Jazakillahu khayran for that post.
    I am quite confused at the moment. I have been thinking all this while that laylatul-qadr was one of the odd nights and also that many say it may have been the 27th. I had never heard about this hadeeth which says it was on the 24th! (which shows hows ignorant I was about such a major thing). But isn’t it true that the Prophet saw was made to forget which night exactly it was? Or is it actually the 24th?

    May Allah reward you greatly.

    Reply
    • Umm Muawiyah
      Aug 24 2011

      Assalamu Alaikum.

      Wa iyyaaki.

      Well, some scholars say that it is only on the 27th. Others look at all the ahadeeth (which point to 21, 23, 27, etc) and say that it changes from year to year and most probably falls on the odd and especially in the last 5 nights.

      I used to think that it was only the odd nights until someone told me that some scholars said that it could be one of the even nights as well. When I saw this hadeeth, I understood why.

      Summary: We have no clue when it is. Let’s worship Him on all the ten nights.

      Reply
  4. FAUZIA RAZA
    Aug 24 2011

    ASSALAMALLYKUM BRITHER, Do you mean first five ayyats of surah ALLA NOT ALAQ?? PLEASE clarify this to me or is it typing error?? thanks 4 yr time and it’s always good to share new knoledge about Islam which I am not aware of.

    Reply
    • Umm Muawiyah
      Aug 24 2011

      Wa Alaikum Assalam.

      [I’m a sister actually.]

      Yes, sorry. I meant Surah Al-Alaq. I was always get confused between the two…

      Jazakillahu kheira for pointing that out.

      Reply
  5. FAUZIA RAZA
    Aug 24 2011

    JAZAKALLAH SISTER,
    I am sorry for addressing u as brother as I did not see umm, I will go on the ref. u hv sent me to clarify my doubts.

    Reply
  6. Umar Farooq
    Aug 24 2011

    Just when you think you have stumbled across all the pleasantly shocking ahadeeth, there hits you a new one – praise be to Allaah. yes, right after seeing your post about ibn taiymiyyah’s view last year, i stick to the view and propogate the same as i think it’s the safest. and what an excellent research, like his many other, blew me off!!

    I read that post this year again and I noticed he says, this was how it was explained by Abu Sa’eed Al-Khudree, what hadeeth is he referring to?

    Also i too was thinking laiylatul qadr was (also) the night Jibreel (alaiyhis-salaam) came down with first wahy to Rasuulullaah – sal-Allaahu ‘alaiyhi wa sallam.

    Also so far I had only “heard” of it being sent down at once (before being communicated via Wahy). First time saw it from Ibn ‘Abbas in Tafseer Ibnu Katheer. I know the Hanafees (Deobandees / Tableeghees) here in India hold it to be on 15th night of sha’baan with no authentic evidence.

    Hmm.. so from your post I can summarize that Laiylatul Qadr is NOT the night the meeting happened… but that is also in Ramadaan inshaa Allaah and it does not hold any significance every year like Laiylatul Qadr, could it be possible though that this event also took place on Laiylatul Qadr?

    The plot thickens…

    Also I would like some info about where Baiytul ‘Izzah is mentioned in Qur’aan or saheeh ahaadeeth.

    Lastly outside the topic – are these the only 2 authentic ahaadeeth about Israa – info wise. *Link deleted*

    Is there any additional info through another chain?

    Alhumdulillaah sister reading your posts feels like opening a box fluttering with knowledge. May Allaah keep you firm and increase you in good, aameen.

    Jazaaki Allaahu khaiyran.

    As-salaamu ‘alaiykum.

    PS: Can you post some info about different views on non-muslims touching mus-haf. All this while I thought it was okay until I read fataawa from Shuyookh Muqbil and Jibreen (rahimahumumullaah). and no they were not basing their view on the famous misinterpreted aayah (as you miht already be aware).

    Reply

Share your thoughts

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments